What Are the Different Types of CCNP?

The following is a brief introduction to the topic:

Cisco Certifications are a great way to stay up-to-date with the latest Cisco products and services. CCNP certifications are available in many different types, which help network engineers to improve their skills. These certifications cover fundamental concepts that can be applied across multiple technology domains, while also giving candidates the option to choose a particular area of focus. The CCNP Certification can help you expand your professional knowledge and experience if you are a network engineer looking to improve your qualifications and knowledge.

The CCNP is not a singular certification. This program offers several tracks and specializations to suit different professions and technologies. This blog post will examine the various types of CCNP certificates available and explain how they can advance your career.

Let’s start by understanding the basics of CCNP and why you should choose CCNP.

Table of Contents

What is CCNP (Certificate of National Expertise)?

Cisco offers the CCNP certification, a worldwide renowned company that specializes in manufacturing and distributing network equipment. CCNP is a certification that is an upgrade of the Cisco Certified Network Associate certification (CCNA). CCNA certification does not make it mandatory to take the CCNP test. You can also check out – CCNA vs. CCNP.

CCNP offers seven different specializations. These are:

  • Enterprise
  • Service Providers
  • Data Center
  • Security
  • Collaboration
  • CyberOps
  • DevNet

The CCNP exam allows you to customize your professional certification level by choosing a core technology and an additional focus exam.

The CCNP Core Exams are centered around distinct Cisco technologies. Each core exam is accompanied by several concentration exams from which you can choose one to specialize.

CCNP: Why you should consider it?

Any job seeker will benefit from acquiring or improving new skills. Here are some reasons why a CCNP could be beneficial to your career.

  • CCNP Certification – Most experts believe that technical certifications are a key success factor, and many companies consider certifications when recruiting new employees.
  • CCNP certification confers on the individual the status of a Cisco Technology specialist.
  • The CCNP exam is a requirement for the lab test required to become a Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert.
  • Obtaining your CCNP is a great way to show off your knowledge, demonstrate your expertise and gain the freedom to assume new responsibilities in your organization.

After we’ve seen what CCNP is and why you should go for CCNP, it’s time to answer this question: How many types of CCNP exist?

Let’s now see how you can get CCNP Certification.

How do I become CCNP Certified?

You must pass both the core and concentration tests to receive your CCNP certification. The passing score is flexible but usually falls between 800 to 850 points out of 1000.

The core exam and concentration exam can contain anywhere between 70 to 100 questions. Both the core exam and the concentration exam last 120 minutes.

Both tests are given individually. You can take one exam first and then the other, as long as both are taken within a 3-year validity period.


Q1 – How many different types of CCNPs are there?

There are seven types of CCNP: CCNP Enterprise (which includes CCNP CyberOps), CCNP Service Provider (which includes CCNP Data Center), CCNP Security (which includes CCNP Collaboration), CCNP CyberOps, and CCNP DevNet.

Q2 – What CCNP is the best?

There is no best CCNP. The best CCNP depends on a variety of factors and varies from person to person. We recommend that you take CCNP Enterprise, as it teaches advanced switching and routing, which are important for network engineers.

Q3 – What certifications are available in CCNP?

The CCNP certification has two exams: Core and Concentration. Each specialization has a core exam as well as a variety of concentration exams.

Q4 – Can I pass CCNP if I don’t have CCNA?

You can pass CCNP even if you don’t have CCNA. You do not need to have a CCNA Certification in order to take or pass the CCNP Certification. It is necessary to understand CCNP and learn networking basics by studying CCNA.

The conclusion of the article is:

This blog post has discussed CCNP Certification and the different types of CCNP. We’ve seen that CCNP is a high-level certification that validates network professionals’ skills and knowledge in various specializations.

Cisco offers seven CCNP certifications: CCNP Enterprise, CCNP Data Center, CCNP Security, CCNP Service Provider, CCNP Collaboration, CCNP CyberOps, and CCNP DevNet. For each CCNP type, you must pass two exams.

Network professionals can increase their employability and credibility in the IT sector by obtaining a or CCNP certificate that matches their career and interests.